Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

April 07, 2003 - 6:50 am

Well, now I've done it.

I've officially scared the sh*t out of myself. Well, not literally...but still...

Last night Hubby was at the Pacers game. My very pregnant SIL and her 11 month old son, LittleH and I all went out to eat at the local pizza joint.

One the way home, LittleH decided to start screaming bloody murder. We were no more than 5 minutes from home, and it was dark outside. So, I picked up the pace on our country road and tried to get us home as soon as I could.

In the interim, I reached back to try to comfort my son who was screaming so hard that he was barely making noise (he hates his carseat, was tired, and his hood was in his face). I went to push his hood out of his face, and next thing I knew, a pack (would it be a Pack? a Grove? A gaggle? *smile*) of trees was heading STRAIGHT for my car, ready to attack us.

Being the stealthy driver that I am (not), I swerved and only sacrificed my side mirror and blinker-light-cover to the trees. My car is a bit scratched up & a few pieces fell off - all of that is repairable. What I *mentally* did to myself is far worse. That. Could. Have. Been. Awful. That could have hurt my child. That could have been really, really bad. I need to pay attention. Not do STUPID things like that anymore.

I was trying to get home. Trying to be a good mom. Trying to do the right thing. But, instead, it could have been really, really the wrong thing.

Whew.

~L

 

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!