Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

August 22, 2003 - 5:59 pm

Well, we did it.

Rented Dad's house out, that is.

Not that I was ready to, but the opportunity presented itself to me, and I felt like it was the swift kick that I needed to get things resolved over there. Don't think I'd ever have been 'ready to' otherwise.

The Renter is nice. She's young, 25, single, with a 3 year old little girl. My father would have LOVED that little girl, and honestly, it was the main reason I wanted to let them live there. However, the mother can be a bit of a drama queen...I hope that she doesn't over-do it, and the situation works out.

Even if it doesn't, though, I suppose this situation served it's purpose. To get me over the whole empty-house situation...it's cleaned out, and the majority of the things Diddi accumulated are piled in my guest room.

*Sigh*

I also brought back the quilt I made for Dad a couple of Christmases (Christmasii?) ago. When I took it out of the bag, I noticed there was some, uhm....fluids...on a good part of the corner of it. It was on his bed when he passed away, you see.

Freaked me out. Made me vomit, actually - not due to any gross-out factor, just the shock of it being there. Needless to say, I couldn't bring myself to throw that quilt away, so I washed it a million times. Washed and washed and washed it. Used 2 bottles of stain remover, and I believe it's finally 'clean'.

It's not that I couldn't throw it away because it was my father's....I've done plenty of that lately. It was more that *I* made that for him. It was that he was surrounded by my love, in his last moments, when I couldn't be there with him. Surely that's not what crossed his mind at the end...but a little part of me was there, regardless.

It's been damn-near a year now. How can that be?

I miss you all. I'm here, reading, a lot. Hudson's busy hands don't allow for alot of computer time these days...but I'm still around, and check in as often as time allows.

~L

 

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!