Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

September 14, 2003 - 9:13 am

I got an email the other day, from my mom. She and my father divorced when I was two, and looking back, I think my father still loved her. And, now that he's gone, I can see that she still loved him....hence all the tension and mean words between them all those years.

Here's the email - subject line reads: About your father, from your mother...

In the silent moments of the day,

In those silent moments of the evening

you always come to mind.

Sadly at first�

Then your face, that smile

comes into focus and fills

the canvas before my eyes.

I can see you smiling,

can see your brow furrowed

when a new thought momentarily perplexed you.

And then the laugh�

That laugh.

I see you outdoors

arms outstretched to grab the sun, the moon,

the earth

your head thrown back to catch

every ray of light,

every speck of beauty possible

at that

exact

precious

moment.

And then I remember, I know

that such a strong spirit,

such a lover of nature

will always be found,

be felt

in every beautiful morning

with each amazing sunset

in every season that passes,

and every breeze

that kisses your cheek.

*Sigh*

I guess I'm not the only one who misses him.

His cousin, N, is dying with a very quick moving lung cancer. I know he's with her. In a really warped sense, I halfway envy her, knowing she's going to see my father, and Gran, and rest of the family again. Mind you, I'm not going to be jumping off of any buildings or anything....but I can only imagine what she's going through. Half relief, half fear. Whew.

I've gotta run, little man needs someone to play "Ba!" with!

~L

 

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!