Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

November 11, 2003 - 6:59 pm

Whew.

It's official; one year. I've survived one year.

One year ago, we laid my father in his final resting place.

Veteran's Day. Hm.

It's been a really rough week and a half, both physically, mentally, and emotionally.

My best friend's father lay dying of cancer, she at his bedside for the better part of last week. She and I both saw our father's last on Halloween. Her's went into a medically induced coma that night.

She spent the next several nights at his side, just waiting. Waiting for him to die.

Took the wind out of my own pity party, I'll tell ya.

I had a wedding cake to make, a 1-year old LittleH to tend to, a house to clean for my mom's arrival on Friday, a friend to keep together and tend to, and my own emotions and life to keep in check.

Her father passed 1 day before mine did. I spent the rest of the week in and out of funeral homes.

I did my best to spout the lessons I've learned in the last year, to lend support, and not to fall apart myself.

Funny, but helping her seemed to help me as well.

Just something about today that seems so final, though. Like, he's really, really gone.

Veteran's Day.

Hm.

~L

 

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!